A REVISION OF FUTURE TIME (PART TWO)

mai 23, 2010 à 5:00 | Publié dans business english, english (all), intermediate english | Laisser un commentaire

 

 * Image created at wordle.net

There are many different ways of talking about the future in English. This lesson looks at how we use the PRESENT CONTINUOUS (e.g. I am doing) and the PRESENT SIMPLE (e.g. I do) to refer to the future.

NOTE: Before you go any further, why not take a look at A REVISION OF FUTURE TIME (PART ONE) to review the use of WILL and BE GOING TO? You can find the lesson in the “Intermediate English” category, or by using the search bar at the top right side of the site.

Although the PRESENT CONTINUOUS and PRESENT SIMPLE are primarily used to talk about the present, they are also used to talk about the future in certain situations. In fact, using these two tenses in the future is a very natural way of communicating in English.

 ff

f

f

 

Read through the dialogue below and pay attention to the use of the PRESENT CONTINUOUS and the PRESENT SIMPLE

 

 ff

f

 

Gary: Hi Paula, where are you off to?

Paula: I’m seeing the ballet with my sister. I can’t chat for long, it starts in an hour.

Gary: Okay sure. That sounds nice. I was going to invite you for a drink with the rest of the department after work, but I guess you already have plans.

Paula: Yeah, well actually, I’m coming after the show finishes, at around 10pm.

Gary: Oh, great. By the way, are you going to the company party on Saturday? I’m definitely going, I already have a ticket. Actually, I can’t wait; it was a fantastic night last year.

Paula: When does it start again?

Gary: It kicks off at around 6.30pm I think. Unless something comes up, I’ll be there as soon as it starts.

Paula: Well, I’ll probably see you there, gotta run!

Gary: Okay, I hope you enjoy it.

ff

f

f

 

kick off: démarrer

gotta run: il faut que j’y aille

 

 

 

 

 ff

f

 

 

PRESENT SIMPLE – VERB +s/es

ff

f

 

We use the PRESENT SIMPLE in the future to talk about rigidly fixed, timetabled or certain events. The most common situations in which the PRESENT SIMPLE is used for the future are when talking about train, plane, bus or other transport departures, or the times at which courses, concerts, films et cetera finish.

ff

f

 

e.g.

 

The next train for Toronto departs at 16.33 from platform three. The next train for Montréal leaves in five minutes from platform one.

 

My Arabic lesson ends at 8pm, and I can certainly meet you after that.

 

The play starts at 7.30pm, but try to be there 15 minutes before.

 ff

f

 

Usually, when we use the PRESENT SIMPLE to talk about the future, a time reference is made. Also, it is used much more frequently to talk about things, objects, vehicles, and less for people. Here are some more examples:

ff

f

 
The sun rises at 6.41 tomorrow BUT I am watching the sun rise tomorrow

Does the sale finish at 4pm on Friday? BUT I am going to the sale on Friday

 ff

f

 

Another important way in which we use the PRESENT SIMPLE is with certain words which, though used to refer to the future, imply a present time.

AFTER, BEFORE, AS SOON AS, BY THE TIME, WHEN, WHILE, UNTIL, SUPPOSE, IN CASE

 

e.g.

 

I am going to dinner on Friday, then I am going to a club

BUT

After I go to dinner on Friday, I am going to a club.

AND

Before I go to a club, I am going to dinner

ALSO

Maybe I will go to dinner with my friends on Friday, I am going to decide tonight after work

BUT

When I decide, I will send you a text

 

 ff

f

 

 

PRESENT CONTINUOUS – BE + VERB +ing

f

 

We use the PRESENT CONTINUOUS to talk about the future when something is planned, but also arranged for a particular time and date. The PRESENT CONTINUOUS is frequently used to talk about the plans we have already arranged.

NOTE: The PRESENT CONTINOUS is not the same as BE GOING TO in this case, because we can say “I am going to see a film this weekend”, but it is much more common (when we know the time and date) to say “I am seeing a film at 3.15pm on Saturday”.

Usually, when we use the PRESENT CONTINUOUS, a personal pronoun is used, and a time reference is included.

ff

f

 

e.g.

 

I am meeting a friend this evening at their house.

(i.) “I” = personal pronoun

(ii.) “this evening” = time reference

 

We’re having a house warming on Saturday.

(i.)               “We” = personal pronoun

(ii.)             “Saturday” = time reference

 

BUT

 

It starts at 8pm

 

 

 ff

f

 

 

NOTE: We cannot use the PRESENT CONTINOUS or the PRESENT SIMPLE for predictions. See A REVISION OF FUTURE TIME (PART ONE) for details.

 

 ff

f

 

 

EXERCISES

ff

f

 

Choose between the PRESENT SIMPLE and the PRESENT CONTINUOUS in these sentences. Answers can be found at the end of the lesson.

ff

f

 

  1. What time is/does the plane getting/get here? The plane is arriving/arrives at 4.24pm.
  2. Tomorrow at 12.30pm, when you receive/are receiving a reply, please forward the e-mail to me.
  3. He’s already got back to me; I am meeting/meet him at 2pm tomorrow.
  4. After I am meeting/meet him at 2pm, we should go for lunch and discuss everything.
  5. What time is/does the film starting/start on Saturday? I don’t know, I am playing/play tennis, so I can’t make it. I’ll ask Andrew for you though, and send you a text later. Oh no wait, I do remember, it starts/is starting at 3.45pm.
  6. I’d better take an umbrella in case it is raining/rains.
  7. My friend from England is joining/joins us at the hockey game at 7pm.
  8. My friend from France wants to know when the hockey game is starting/starts. It is starting/starts at 7pm.
  9. I should take a map in case we are getting/get lost.
  10. The sun is setting/sets at 8.23pm tomorrow.

 ff

f

f

 

Now look at the following timetable and imagine it is your schedule for next week. Complete the sentences with the correct verb. Answers follow the lesson.

 ff

f

 

Monday

I __________ (go) for a run with John at 6pm.

Amy and I __________ (see) a film together; it __________ (start) at 8.45pm.

Tuesday

My French course __________ (begin) today at 9pm.

After my French course __________ (end), I __________ (meet) a friend for a drink.

Wednesday

Martin __________ (leave) Canada for 6 month, his flight __________ (take off) at 12.40pm.

Thursday

Kate wants to have dinner with you, but she may have to work late. I __________ (not – make) arrangements yet, in case Kate __________ (cancel). As soon as she __________ (finish) work tomorrow, she will call me.

Friday

I __________ (not – do) anything tonight except relaxing.

Saturday

I __________ (go) to a concert. The doors __________ (open) at 7pm.

Sunday

I __________ (attend) a wedding at 3.30pm at a beautiful church in the countryside. The reception __________ (begin) at exactly 5pm.

ff

f

f

ff

Adamique offre des cours d’anglais et de français à Montréal. Visitez notre site web pour plus d’informations !

Adamique offers French and English classes in Montreal. Visit our website for more information!

Adamique在蒙特利尔提供法语和英语培训课程。更多信息请访问我们的网站.

www.adamique.com

 

ff

f

f

Answers:

 

  1. What time is/does the plane getting/get here? The plane is arriving/arrives at 4.24pm.
  2. Tomorrow at 12.30pm, when you receive/are receiving a reply, please forward the e-mail to me.
  3. He’s already got back to me; I am meeting/meet him at 2pm tomorrow.
  4. After I am meeting/meet him at 2pm, we should go for lunch and discuss everything.
  5. What time is/does the film starting/start on Saturday?  I don’t know, I am playing/play tennis, so I can’t make it. I’ll ask Andrew for you though, and send you a text later. Oh no wait, I do remember, it starts/is starting at 3.45pm.
  6. I’d better take an umbrella in case it is raining/rains.
  7. My friend from England is joining/joins us at the hockey game at 7pm.
  8. My friend from France wants to know when the hockey game is starting/starts. It is starting/starts at 7pm.
  9. I should take a map in case we are getting/get lost.
  10. The sun is setting/sets at 8.23pm tomorrow.

 

 

Monday

 

I am going for a run with John at 6pm.

Amy and I are seeing a film together; it starts at 8.45pm.

 

Tuesday

 

My French course begins today at 9pm.

After my French course ends, I am meeting a friend for a drink.

 

Wednesday

 

Martin is leaving Canada for 6 month, his flight takes off at 12.40pm.

 

Thursday

 

Kate wants to have dinner with you, but she may have to work late. I am not making arrangements yet, in case Kate cancels. As soon as she finishes work tomorrow, she will call me.

 

Friday

 

I am not doing anything tonight except relaxing.

 

Saturday

 

I am going to a concert. The doors open at 7pm.

 

Sunday

 

I am attending a wedding at 3.30pm at a beautiful church in the countryside. The reception begins at exactly 5pm.

 

Laisser un commentaire »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.
Entries et commentaires feeds.

