HOW TO USE THE VERB “DO”

mars 29, 2010 à 1:47 | Publié dans beginner/debutant english, english (all) | Un commentaire

* Image created at wordle.net

This lesson looks at the verb “do” – an AUXILIARY VERB. We use “do” extremely frequently in English, as is demonstrated in the dialogue below.

Read through the following conversation, focusing on the use of the verb “do”.

Daniel: Sorry, do you mind if I sit here?

Paul: No, please do.

Daniel: Thanks… Do I know you? Your face seems familiar. You work in the HR department, don’t you?

Paul: Yes! I do, I started last week, but I don’t know many people yet.

Daniel: Ah well, it won’t take long before you get to know everyone.

Paul: I dunno, everyone seems to have been working there for years and years.

Daniel: You’re right, but don’t let it get you down. The department is really friendly; soon you’ll be feeling right at home.

Paul: Thanks.

Daniel: Don’t mention it.

Paul: The weather has been great lately, don’t you think? Did you manage to enjoy the sunshine over the weekend?

Daniel: I did actually. I have two young boys, and we spent Saturday in the park together. What about you; did you do anything nice?

Paul: Not really, I’ve just moved into a new apartment, so spent the weekend doing it up, and unpacking boxes. It sounds like you had more fun with the weather than I did!

Daniel: Oh well, I’m sure it’s nice to have your apartment a bit more organized.

Paul: Yes, you’re right.

fff

f

I dunno: contraction of “I do not know”

to feel (right) at home: se sentir comme à la maison/chez soi

lately: recently

to do up: rénover

*

The verb “do” has two main uses:

(i.) Forming negatives.

(ii.) Forming questions.

“Do” is an EMPTY verb. In other words, it does not carry any real meaning by itself. Instead, it is used to help other verbs in certain situations.

*

Find three examples of a negative formed with “do”. Answers are at the end of the lesson.

e.g. I don’t know many people yet.

Find three examples of a question formed with “do”. Answers are at the end of the lesson.

e.g. Do you mind if I sit here?

NEGATIVES

To form a negative in English, we often use “do”.

DO + NOT + VERB

e.g. I don’t understand.

NOTE: If there is another auxiliary verb in the sentence, such as have/be/modal auxiliary (will/would/can/could/may/might/shall/should/must/ought to/used to) then we do not use “do”. Also, we never use “do” with the verb BE.

e.g. I am 22 years old I am not 22 years old.

NOT I don’t be 22 years old.

I can help you I can’t help you.

NOT I don’t can help you.

NEGATIVE IMPERATIVES

DO + NOT + VERB

We use “do” to form the imperative tense in the negative.

e.g. Stop! Don’t stop!

Go! Don’t go!

(Cry.) Don’t cry.

Forget it. Don’t forget it.

QUESTIONS

To form a question in English, we often use “do”.

DO + VERB + ?

e.g. Do you speak English?

If we are asking a question in the past, then “do” is used in the past tense.

e.g. Did you go to class today?

(NOT did you went to class today)

To answer a question with “do”, we do not need to use the main verb again.

e.g. Did you go to class today?

Yes, I did.

NOTE: If there is another auxiliary verb in the sentence, such as have/be/modal auxiliary (will/would/can/could/may/might/shall/should/must/ought to/used to) then we do not use “do”. Also, we never use “do” with the verb BE.

e.g. Have you been to Canada before? NOT Did you been to Canada before?

Would you like some more coffee? NOT Did you like some more coffee?

Are you working tomorrow? NOT Did you working tomorrow?

TAG QUESTIONS

A tag question is a small question which we add to the end of a statement.

e.g. You finished your homework, didn’t you?

You think so, do you?

We often use “do” with tag questions, and replace the main verb with “do”.

VERB + STATEMENT + DO (NOT) + ?

When answering tag questions, we only need to use “do”.

e.g. You went to work today, didn’t you?

Yes, of course I did.

*

Now look at the following sentences and fill in the gaps with DO.

e.g. __________ they __________ (think) I’m stupid?

No, they __________

Do they think I’m stupid?

No, they don’t.

1. __________ you __________ (have) a good weekend?

Yes, I __________

2. __________ you __________ (play) tennis regularly?

No, I __________

3. You __________ with her, __________ (not – speak) you?

No, I __________ have time yesterday.

4. Excuse me, __________ you __________ (know) where the bathroom is?

No, I __________ , sorry.

5. __________ they __________ (like) ice-cream?

Yes, they __________

6. __________ she __________ (have) children?

Yes, she __________

7. __________ he __________(hate) me?

No, of course he __________

8. __________ it __________ (hurt)?

Yes, it __________ a little.

9. __________ __________ (not – forget) your keys.

10. __________ (worry), the ambulance will be here soon.

Look at the sentences and change them into either a question, negative or imperative.

e.g. I talk all the time (question) = Do you talk a lot?

  1. I like pizza (question)
  2. I went yesterday (negative)
  3. I cook for my family every Sunday (question)
  4. They know what they’re talking about (negative)
  5. She forgot the lock the door (question)
  6. I did my homework (question)
  7. I have a daughter (question)
  8. Come off when you reach the first exit (negative imperative)
  9. Tell me how to live my life (negative imperative)
  10. James understands how to use the verb “do” (negative)

ff

f

f

Adamique offre des cours d’anglais et de français à Montréal. Visitez notre site web pour plus d’informations !

Adamique offers French and English classes in Montreal. Visit our website for more information!

Adamique在蒙特利尔提供法语和英语培训课程。更多信息请访问我们的网站.

www.adamique.com

ff

f


Answers:

1. Do I know you?

Did you manage to enjoy the sunshine over the weekend?

What about you; did you do anything nice?

You work in the HR department, don’t you?

The weather has been great lately, don’t you think? Did

2. You’re right, but don’t let it get you down.

You work in the HR department, don’t you?

Don’t mention it.

The weather has been great lately, don’t you think?

I dunno.

1. Did you have a good weekend?

Yes, I did.

2. Do you play tennis regularly?

No, I don’t.

3. You spoke with her, didn’t you?

No, I didn’t have time yesterday.
4. Excuse me, do you know where the bathroom is?

No, I don’t, sorry.

5. Do they like ice-cream?

Yes, they do.

6. Does she have children?

Yes, she does.

7. Does he hate me?

No, of course he doesn’t.

8. Does it hurt?

Yes, it does a little.

9. Don’t forget your keys.

10. Don’t worry, the ambulance will be here soon.

  1. Do you like pizza?
  2. I didn’t go yesterday
  3. Do you cook for your family?
  4. They don’t know what they’re talking about
  5. Did she forget to lock the door?
  6. Did you do your homework?
  7. Do you have any children?
  8. Don’t come off when you reach the first exit
  9. Don’t tell me how to live my life
  10. James doesn’t understand how to use the verb “do”

Un commentaire »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, you do a lot of work on your blog ! Very interesting !
    I did the test and I realized then that I have to practice: does.

    Thank you


Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.
Entries et commentaires feeds.

